Friday, July 31, 2015

Happy Guru Purnima

Click here to learn more about this special day for yogis.

Photo by Natasha Philips

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Thursday Quote

"I remember my first visit with my guru. He had shown that he read my mind. So I looked at the grass and I thought, 'My god, he's going to know all the things I don't want people to know.' I was really embarrassed. Then I looked up and he was looking directly at me with unconditional love."

-Ram Dass

Monday, July 27, 2015

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Thursday Quote

"Let no man in the world live in delusion. Without a Guru none can cross over to the other shore."

-Guru Nanak

Monday, July 20, 2015

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Thursday Quote

The Guest House
By Mowlana Jalal al-Din Rumi

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
As an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they're a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

Monday, July 13, 2015

Thursday, July 09, 2015

Thursday Quote

"I have no father, no mother, relatives or brothers.
I have broken family ties; who can do anything?
I have spoken of my love through my tears.
Servant Meera has fallen in love with the Lord,
He is now mine. Gopala (Lord Krishna) is mine. No one else!"


Monday, July 06, 2015

Saturday, July 04, 2015

Real Independence

Real independence is freedom from cravings and desires. Learn how to cultivate vairagya (dispassion) in Kali's recent Yoga Chicago column, here.

Thursday, July 02, 2015

Thursday Quote

"I was passionate,
filled with longing,
I searched
far and wide.

"But the day
that the Truthful One
found me,
I was at home."

-Lal Ded